Rushlight Awards honours EEF entrepreneurs

Nine of the 20 awards given out at the 13th Annual Rushlight Awards were presented to recipients of BEIS Energy Entrepreneurs Fund (EEF) grants. As EEF’s lead delivery partner, CLT is delighted by the success of these entrepreneurs. It shows that their innovations are industry-leading and that their businesses are positioned for growth.

CLT sponsors Rushlight every year to ensure that UK clean tech entrepreneurs have a platform to pitch to investors and showcase their innovations.

We were pleased for our Principal Consultant Jeffrey Beyer to chair two sessions at the Rushlight Exhibition and Conference. He introduced keynote speakers Matthew Billson, Deputy Director of Energy Innovation at the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS) and David Hytch, Head of Energy at Innovate UK. He also introduced the first round of entrepreneurs that pitched for investment, featuring innovations ranging from efficient carbon capture, biogas engines, new energy storage devices, and zero emissions steam engines.

The EEF grant recipients that won Rushlight Awards include:

  • StorTerawinning the overall Rushlight Award, the Energy Environmental group category award and the Energy Efficiency Award
  • Axis Energy Projects winning the Natural Energy group category award and the Wind Power Award
  • Oxford PV winning the Solar Award
  • First Light Fusion winning the Nuclear Energy Award
  • GridDuck winning the Energy Reduction Award
  • CEAD winning the Clean Environment Award

EEF grant recipients that were highly commended at Rushlight include:

  • Bramble, which has developed a cost-effective hydrogen fuel cell
  • LightFi, which uses real-time occupancy detection to reduce energy wastage

Congratulations to all entrants for putting yourselves forward for this prestigious award.